The Food I’ll do Without

I went to a local pizza joint with a friend last night.  We shared a calamari pie with hot peppers and a crispy crust.  It came piping hot out of a brick oven right behind the counter.  

I am guessing I’m not going to be getting pizza like that in Alabama. 

I’ll also miss being able to buy Italian sausage in all its forms:  link, cheese & parsley ring, hot, sweet, with or without fennel.

How many varieties of extra virgin olive oil will the markets have?  Probably Berio and Bertolli only.  At least I won’t be tempted by the array of $30 bottles I see every day at Dean & Deluca, where I currently go for my lunchtime soup.

Bet there won’t be a butcher’s where I can buy pinwheels (rolls of skirt steak stuffed with parsley and romano cheese ready to put on the grill). 

And veggies … will I be able to get artichokes, either fresh or frozen?  Eggplant? 

Cilantro, fresh mozzarella, Italian canned plum tomatoes, Barilla pasta?

Arborio rice, balsamic vinegar, French sea salt, roasted green olives, Italian bread, chestnuts and finnochio, cannolis and sfogliatelle  …

Cheesecake?

7 Responses

  1. This should be a huge concern. I only moved to Boston, a town with plenty of Italian heritage, and I can’t get a lot of those things! I especially miss a good butcher shop, with the zillion kinds of sausage and wrapped meats and cheeses I grew up thinking everybody eats. On the bright side, there will likely be lots of delicious things local and in-season at different times of the year. And it’s always fun to experiment with what you do find.

  2. Help is but an email away… speedy delivery ! Just let me know !!!

  3. I think this is an issue no matter where you come from. When I moved from California to D.C. in 1984, I couldn’t find even canned chiles in the entire city. Forget about fresh tortillas or tomatillos. My MIL used to ship restaurant-sized cans of chiles to us; I’d freeze them between wax paper and use them as we needed them.

    By the time we left, D.C. had caught up to Mexican food — sort of. On the other hand, I can’t get soft-shell crabs here.

  4. I found excellent sfogliatelli (even fresher than Veniero’s) in Kingston, NY. This means there is hope for you in Montgomery. Think wild-caught, deliciously fresh shrimp…

  5. Just talk to your nieces and nephew who live in various exotic points in the US. I’m sure they will tell you of their trials and tribulations getting favorite foods. However, remember we did get crabs in Rochester, MN for Christmas two years ago and Michael always gets a lobster for his birthday (Thank God for lobstergram).

  6. I’m one of the people who lured Maureen and George from provincial Staten Island to the Heart of Dixie. And I promise all of their friends one thing: you can buy very expensive olive oil here. I’m sending Maureen the proof now.

  7. Just don’t eat the Pastrami ANYwhere else 😉

Leave a Reply

